6 Comments

I'm so used to thinking of Jesus as the Good Shepherd that I'm thrown off balance when he calls himself, not the shepherd, but the gate.

Expand full comment

Excellent comments and thank you both for the insights.

It occurs to me, David, that having a home base and being invited out to graze and then nudged home to rest and regenerate ourselves also offers us the possibility to blur the "us/them", the "in/out" dichotomy at least a little if we keep to the core of the invitation to life offered here.

It also occurs to me that careful, heart-centred listening is the important aspect of hearing, beyond partisan preferences, and recognizing the life that Jesus opens to us.

It is interesting that the disciples, locked in the upper room, hear (and see) the resurrected Jesus who "breaks in" and speaks to them. They recognize the shepherd's voice, and go out into the world again.

And yes, there are teachers and professors that opened gates and invited me into new pastures and that is a grace for which I am very thankful.

Expand full comment

I stumbled over this reading. It's like the metaphors shift, or the anticipated unravelling of the images shifts as we move from one paragraph to the next.

Two things stuck with me:

1) The calling of sheep by name, sheep knowing the voice of the Shepherd and following. I could not help but think of Jesus and Mary Magdalene at the tomb, where she suddenly knows Jesus when her name is spoken.

2) The sheep can go in and out, and we are to have abundant Life. Freedom and Abundance. I am not sure what that means, but it seems a long way off from the "gospel" of sin and weakness that I grew up with. Much more like good news.

Expand full comment